The wheel stops turning for a while

My audible account has one book credit. I was about to spend it on Winter’s Heart, Book 9 of the Wheel of Time series, but thought of my wife who also enjoys audiobooks in the car. I offered to get her the latest Karin Slaughter book, Broken, which has just come out on audible so she could listen on the way to work. She loves crime thrillers and eagerly accepted.

Usually we can share a one-credit-a-month account because her commuting time is short and it takes her a long time to get through a book, whereas I usually read 40+ hour books (most Wheel of Time books are of that size) which can take me over a month to complete. On this occasion I did not have a spare credit because Book 8 of The Wheel of Time, The Path of Daggers, is around half the normal size for books in the series and I got through it in 10 days.

So I am without audible credit and without Wheel of Time book to listen to. What to do? The answer is to continue with my re-read of earlier books in the series. I re-read The Eye of the World (Book 1) between Lord of Chaos (Book 6) and A Crown of Swords (Book 7). So I have gone back to Book 2, The Great Hunt.

I recall The Great Hunt was a very enjoyable book and so far (I am on Chapter 2) find myself enjoying just as much, if not more, the second time around. Which makes me wonder why, given that I already know what happens. My explanation is that re-reading a book you already know is in some ways a more relaxing experience than reading a book for the first time. With the latter, you don’t know what’s about to happen next and don’t know how all the threads and character motivations interact with each other to make the plot hang together. For that reason you are kept on edge with your wits about you so you can make sense of events as they happen. This can detract from the enjoyment of some of the best bits and you can find yourself glossing over some of the minutiae. On a re-read, you don’t have to spare any part of your mind to keep deciphering the plot, or guarding against surprises, so you can relax and enjoy the full detail of the text as it unfolds.

This entry was posted in Fantasy, Robert Jordan, The Great Hunt, Wheel of Time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

