No Dream Start to the Dreaming Void

Maybe Peter F Hamilton was not the best choice after all. I am just an hour into The Dreaming Void and finding it very hard going indeed.

I knew it was set in the same universe as the Commonwealth series (which I have not read) but assumed the Void books stood alone. I am not quite so sure now. There seems to be a fair bit of carry over from the earlier books and my lack of familiarity with them is unhelpful.

It is not only that. The book seems quite cliched and derivative. A bit like Iain M Bank’s Culture books but lacking the subtlety or polish.

Alright, it’s early days. I’m not that far into it. It is just that I am not at the moment looking forward to reading on. But I will persevere. It can only get better.

This entry was posted in Books, Science Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

